top of page

IrishSUP Surf Classic 2014

Photo Credit: ASI Stand Up Paddle

This was our first surf trip to Ireland, we didn't get up to much free surfing, but the competition scene was good fun. The competition was held near Sligo, it was held at a beach by Aughris Head, it was a funny beach mainly right waves at high tide, but became lefts at low tide.

The competition was set up by Paul Byrne and Dave Owens. The categories were Ladies, Masters, First Timers, Sub 10ft and +10ft, I entered the Sub 10ft and the +10ft, the +10ft category was a hoot!! I hadn’t been on a board that big since I’d started. I was more experienced on a wave which made it more of a blast. It felt like I was paddling a cruise ship! I was so surprised that I got through the first heat, but I got knocked out in the semi-finals.

In the Sub 10ft category I exceeded my expectations. I was chuffed when I got through the first heat in 2nd place, then even more surprised that I got through the semi-finals. In the finals I was against Finn Mullen, Dave Owens and Steve Laddiman (Dad) Instantly when we realised we were in the finals, dad and I decided it was going to be a father, son battle for 3rd and 4th place. When the heat ended, I was shocked to find out that I'd got 2nd.

In my opinion this competition was the best by far, the atmosphere was so chilled, everyone was happy to have a chat, and the set up was really well done. The bar (beach bar sligo) was great as well, it was happy to hold all the participants of the comp, for dinner and the ones who liked staying late drinking ;-)

The Results For The IrishSUP Surf Classic 2014:

Ladies:

1. Katie McAnena

2. Dee Harmon

3. Orla Doogue

4. Michaela Vonstein

First Timers:

1.Tony Doherty

2. Ozzie Jay

3. David Mangan

4. John Stapleton

Masters:

1. Finn Mullen

2. Paul Byrne

3. Steve Laddiman

4. Owen Waters

10ft and Bigger:

1. Finn Mullen

2. Mark Flynn

3. Steve Laddiman

4. Paul Byrne

Sub 10ft:

1. Finn Mullen

2. Ollie Laddiman

3. Dave Owens

4. Steve Laddiman

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page